The emerging dental service organizations in Utah for 2026 include Bridge Dental Group, Dentive, SPP Dental Partners, and Stubbs Dental, ranked by scale and prominence across independently checked sources.
TL;DR
- Bridge Dental Group (Cottonwood Heights), founded in 2023 by Dr. Peter Theurer, operates 27+ practices nationally and expanded in April 2026 by acquiring Foothill Family Dental Group and Peak Dental Specialists in Glendora, California, though its Utah-only location count isn't separately disclosed.
- Dentive (Provo), founded in 2019 by Tom Clark and Austin McFee and backed by HGGC's growth investment since January 19, 2023, operates roughly 100 practices across 14-15 states and named a new CEO, Maria Davlantes, in July 2025.
- SPP Dental Partners (Salt Lake City), founded in 2020 by three dentists with an explicit "no M&A, only partnerships" model, entered Utah in March 2025 through its first in-state affiliation with Giauque Family Dental, its only confirmed Utah affiliation.
- Stubbs Dental (Bountiful), founder-owned since 2014 by Dr. David Stubbs with no private equity involvement, operates 4 Utah locations across Bountiful, Layton, Murray, and Lehi.
Note: Utah Code § 58-69-804 imposes no corporate-practice-of-dentistry restriction at all, meaning ordinary business corporations, not just professional dental entities, can directly own dental practices in the state. Utah is one of only a handful of states, alongside Iowa and South Carolina, that allows this. The only guardrail is that licensed dentists must personally perform the actual clinical procedures. That single regulatory fact shapes nearly every ownership structure on this list.
The Emerging Dental Service Organizations in Utah
| Group | HQ City | Locations in Utah | Ownership/Backing | Affiliation Model | Growth Signal (Last 12 Mo.) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bridge Dental Group | Cottonwood Heights, UT | Unverified count (27+ practices nationally) | Founder-led (Dr. Peter Theurer, since 2023) | DSO / Corporate ownership | Acquired Foothill Family Dental Group + Peak Dental Specialists, Glendora, CA (Apr 2026) |
| Dentive | Provo, UT | Unverified count (~100 practices across 14-15 states) | HGGC (growth investment since Jan 19, 2023) | DSO / Corporate ownership | New CEO, Maria Davlantes, named (Jul 2025) |
| SPP Dental Partners | Salt Lake City, UT | 1 (Giauque Family Dental) | Founder-led (3 dentists, since 2020); no M&A model | Partnership (no acquisitions) | First Utah affiliation, Giauque Family Dental (Mar 2025) |
| Stubbs Dental | Bountiful, UT | 4 (Bountiful, Layton, Murray, Lehi) | Founder-owned (Dr. David Stubbs, since 2014); no PE found | Independent group practice | No dated growth signal found in the last 12 months |
Location counts are as published or dated in company and trade-press sources (September 2026).
How We Evaluated These Groups
- Scale and footprint within Utah: location count and metro coverage, as of a dated source
- Ownership and backing: private equity, founder-owned, or independent
- Affiliation model: how the group structures its relationship with affiliated dentists
- Growth signal: new-location openings, acquisitions, or funding activity in the last 12 months
- Regulatory fit: how the group's structure sits within Utah's unusually permissive corporate-ownership statute
Disclosure. Needletail AI is a dental insurance-eligibility verification and revenue-cycle platform. None of the groups named here are Needletail customers as far as this research found, and we're covering Utah because a state that allows ordinary corporate ownership of dental practices outright still faces the same underlying question: does insurance verification stay consistent as a corporately owned platform like Bridge Dental Group or Dentive adds locations across state lines.
What Counts as an Emerging DSO in Utah
An emerging DSO or dental group in Utah is a multi-location practice that is either founder-owned or backed by private equity, operating between roughly 3 and 20 in-state locations, and actively adding locations rather than holding steady. Bridge Dental Group and Dentive both operate well beyond that range on a national basis, but are included because their Utah headquarters and origins make them directly relevant to any in-state evaluation.
Hospital-affiliated dental departments and non-dental healthcare systems are excluded, even where they operate multiple dental clinics, because their growth drivers and buying behavior differ from an independent or PE-backed group.
The Emerging Dental Service Organizations in Utah, in Detail
1. Bridge Dental Group
A young, fast-growing corporate platform expanding beyond Utah's borders.
Founded in 2023 by Dr. Peter Theurer and headquartered in Cottonwood Heights, Bridge Dental Group has grown to 27+ practices nationally in just a few years.
How it operates: The group expanded outside Utah in April 2026 by acquiring Foothill Family Dental Group and Peak Dental Specialists in Glendora, California, a dated, cross-state acquisition, though its Utah-only location count is not separately disclosed in sources checked.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Highlighting features | 27+ practices nationally; founded 2023; acquired Foothill Family Dental Group + Peak Dental Specialists, Glendora, CA (Apr 2026) |
| Ownership/Backing | Founder-led (Dr. Peter Theurer, since 2023) |
| Affiliation Model | DSO / Corporate ownership |
| Regulatory History | No False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found in research checked |
Strengths: Rapid national growth to 27+ practices in under three years; a recent, dated cross-state acquisition (April 2026) showing active, ongoing expansion beyond its Utah home base.
Limits: Its Utah-only location count isn't separately confirmed from its national total, making its in-state scale hard to pin down precisely.
Who it is for. A Utah dentist interested in a young, fast-growing corporate platform with national ambitions.
Who should skip it? An owner who wants a confirmed, dated Utah-specific location count, Stubbs Dental or SPP Dental Partners are more precisely documented in-state.
2. Dentive
A larger, multi-state platform with a recent leadership change.
Founded in 2019 by Tom Clark and Austin McFee and headquartered in Provo, Dentive received a growth investment from HGGC on January 19, 2023, and has scaled to roughly 100 practices across 14-15 states.
How it operates: The platform named Maria Davlantes as its new CEO in July 2025, a dated leadership transition, though its Utah-only location count is not separately disclosed in sources checked.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Highlighting features | ~100 practices across 14-15 states; HGGC growth investment (Jan 19, 2023); new CEO, Maria Davlantes, named (Jul 2025) |
| Ownership/Backing | HGGC (growth investment since Jan 19, 2023) |
| Affiliation Model | DSO / Corporate ownership |
| Regulatory History | No False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found in research checked |
Strengths: The largest multi-state footprint among the groups profiled here, at roughly 100 practices; over three years of stable, dated PE growth-investment backing; a recent, dated leadership change that signals continued organizational investment.
Limits: Its Utah-only location count isn't separately confirmed from its 14-15-state total; a leadership transition can introduce short-term strategic uncertainty.
Who it is for. A Utah practice considering affiliation with the state's largest multi-state, PE-backed platform.
Who should skip it? An owner who wants a Utah-only, precisely documented footprint, Stubbs Dental or SPP Dental Partners are the closer fit.
3. SPP Dental Partners
An explicit no-acquisitions, partnership-only model with a single confirmed Utah affiliation.
Founded in 2020 by three dentists and headquartered in Salt Lake City, SPP Dental Partners states explicitly that it does not pursue mergers or acquisitions, operating instead through a partnership model.
How it operates: The group entered Utah in March 2025 through its first in-state affiliation with Giauque Family Dental, which remains its only confirmed Utah partnership in sources checked.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Highlighting features | 1 confirmed Utah affiliation, Giauque Family Dental (Mar 2025); explicit no-M&A, partnership-only model |
| Ownership/Backing | Founder-led (3 dentists, since 2020); no M&A model |
| Affiliation Model | Partnership (no acquisitions) |
| Regulatory History | No False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found in research checked |
Strengths: A distinct, explicit no-acquisitions positioning that some independent dentists specifically prefer over a traditional buyout; a recent, dated Utah entry (March 2025) showing the model is being actively deployed in-state.
Limits: Only one confirmed Utah affiliation, making its actual in-state scale the smallest and least proven among the groups profiled here.
Who it is for. A Utah dentist who wants a partnership structure explicitly built around not selling the practice outright.
Who should skip it? An owner looking for a group with a larger, proven Utah track record, Bridge Dental Group or Dentive have far more scale.
4. Stubbs Dental
A founder-owned, non-PE network with a confirmed, stable Utah footprint.
Headquartered in Bountiful and founder-owned since 2014 by Dr. David Stubbs, Stubbs Dental operates without private equity involvement.
How it operates: The group runs 4 confirmed Utah locations in Bountiful, Layton, Murray, and Lehi. No dated location, funding, or acquisition event from the last 12 months was found in research checked.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Highlighting features | 4 confirmed Utah locations (Bountiful, Layton, Murray, Lehi); founder-owned since 2014; no PE found |
| Ownership/Backing | Founder-owned (Dr. David Stubbs, since 2014); no PE found |
| Affiliation Model | Independent group practice |
| Regulatory History | No False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found in research checked |
Strengths: The most precisely confirmed, dated Utah-only footprint among the groups profiled here; over a decade of stable, continuous founder leadership without private equity involvement.
Limits: No dated growth signal, location opening, or funding event was found in the last 12 months, so current expansion momentum is unclear; a small, 4-location footprint compared to the multi-state platforms on this list.
Who it is for. A Utah dentist interested in a stable, founder-owned network with a confirmed, precisely documented in-state footprint.
Who should skip it? An investor or dentist looking for evidence of active, recent expansion, Bridge Dental Group and SPP Dental Partners both have more recent dated signals.
Utah Dental Ownership & Regulatory Snapshot
Utah Code § 58-69-804 imposes no corporate-practice-of-dentistry restriction at all, meaning an ordinary business corporation, not just a professional dental entity, may directly own a dental practice in the state. Utah is one of only a small number of states, alongside Iowa and South Carolina, with this structure; the only requirement is that licensed dentists personally perform the clinical procedures. House Bill 372, passed in 2025, addresses scope-of-practice issues including hygienist supervision and teledentistry, but does not touch ownership. We did not find any 2023-2026 Utah Dental Society rulemaking, litigation, or Attorney General action specifically targeting DSO ownership or transparency in dentistry.
Market Size & Growth Signals in Utah
- Bridge Dental Group's April 2026 acquisition of Foothill Family Dental Group and Peak Dental Specialists in California shows active, cross-state growth from its Utah base
- Dentive's July 2025 CEO transition and ongoing HGGC backing show continued organizational investment in its roughly 100-practice, 14-15-state network
- SPP Dental Partners' March 2025 entry into Utah through Giauque Family Dental marks its first confirmed in-state deployment of its partnership model
- No PE buyout or funding round targeting Stubbs Dental was found in this research, consistent with its founder-owned, non-PE structure
- Utah's permissive corporate-ownership statute continues to make the state attractive to corporately structured platforms like Bridge Dental Group and Dentive
Is Utah Still a Good Market to Scale a Dental Group?
| Your Situation | Choose Utah If | Watch Out For |
|---|---|---|
| Dentist interested in a young, fast-growing corporate platform | Bridge Dental Group's April 2026 California acquisition shows real, active national momentum | Its Utah-only location count isn't separately confirmed |
| Practice considering affiliation with a larger, multi-state platform | Dentive's roughly 100-practice, 14-15-state network and recent CEO change show scale and continued investment | Its Utah-only footprint isn't separately disclosed |
| Dentist who wants a no-acquisitions partnership model | SPP Dental Partners' explicit non-M&A structure and March 2025 Utah entry fit that preference | Only one confirmed Utah affiliation exists so far |
| Dentist seeking a stable, founder-owned, non-PE network | Stubbs Dental's decade-plus of founder leadership across 4 confirmed locations shows real stability | No recent growth signal was found, so current momentum is unclear |
Common Operational Pain Points as Groups Scale in Utah
- Verifying insurance eligibility consistently once a group crosses roughly 5 locations, especially for platforms like Bridge Dental Group and Dentive that operate across state lines with different payer rules in each
- Standardizing a verification process across newly affiliated independent practices, as with SPP Dental Partners' Giauque Family Dental partnership, which likely arrives with its own existing habits
- Managing the operational side of Utah's permissive corporate-ownership structure, where a business entity can own the practice but insurance verification still runs through the clinical side
- Keeping a founder-owned network's verification process current as a group like Stubbs Dental weighs whether and how to expand further
This is where the operational reality catches up with the growth story above. A newly affiliated independent practice, like Giauque Family Dental joining SPP Dental Partners, doesn't automatically start verifying insurance the way the rest of the group does just because the partnership paperwork is signed.
How Needletail Helps Growing Utah Dental Groups to Verify Insurance
Needletail AI is a dental insurance-eligibility verification and RCM platform, built for the moment a newly affiliated or newly added Utah practice needs to start verifying insurance the same way as the rest of its group, whether that group is a corporately owned national platform or a founder-led independent network.
How the verification runs, end to end:
- A patient books or confirms an appointment in the practice's PMS.
- Appointment and insurance details flow to Needletail through its API.
- An AI Portal Agent logs into payer portals to pull plan and benefits data.
- An AI Voice Agent calls payers directly and navigates their IVR systems for carriers where portal access is unreliable or unavailable.
- An AI QA Agent cross-checks both data sources and flags inconsistencies.
- A human QA team reviews edge cases.
- The completed eligibility form writes back directly into the practice's PMS, no CSV exports, no copy-paste.
- Works across state lines. Needletail's verification process runs the same regardless of which state a location sits in, useful for a multi-state platform like Bridge Dental Group or Dentive expanding beyond Utah.
- Works for newly affiliated independent practices. Needletail connects to the PMS a practice already runs rather than forcing a system change, useful for a partnership model like SPP Dental Partners bringing on an independent affiliate like Giauque Family Dental.
- Set up in about two weeks. Needletail describes a roughly 10-day implementation, running in parallel with a practice's existing process before fully switching over, useful for a founder-owned network like Stubbs Dental considering its next step.
Book a demo to see how Needletail verifies eligibility across every Utah location.
Checklist Before Scaling a Dental Group in Utah
- Does the group's ownership structure take advantage of Utah's permissive corporate-ownership statute under Utah Code § 58-69-804, or does it follow a more traditional professional-entity model?
- What is the group's current, dated Utah location count, and where can it be independently verified?
- Is the group's affiliation model equity/ownership, partnership, or straight employment, in writing?
- What PMS platform runs across existing locations, and what would onboarding a newly affiliated practice cost?
- How is insurance eligibility verified today, and does that process hold up as the group adds locations, especially across state lines?
- Has the group settled any False Claims Act or state AG action, and what changed afterward?
- What is the payer mix, commercial, Medicaid, and self-pay, across current and planned Utah locations?
- If joining through a partnership model, like SPP Dental Partners' Giauque Family Dental deal, ask what changes operationally on day one versus what stays the same?
- What's the actual timeline from signed acquisition or partnership close to first patient at a new Utah location?
- Does the group's clinical procedures remain under licensed-dentist control, consistent with Utah Code § 58-69-804's one remaining guardrail?









