The top 10 dental service organizations in 2026 include Heartland Dental, Aspen Dental, PDS Health, MB2 Dental, Smile Brands, Sonrava Health, Smile Doctors, Affordable Care, Dental Care Alliance, and North American Dental Group, ranked by scale and prominence across independent sources.
TL;DR
- Heartland Dental is the largest DSO in the U.S. by location count, KKR-backed.
- Aspen Dental (The Aspen Group) runs a structured, 20-year-old path to practice ownership.
- PDS Health is the largest founder-owned DSO, with no private equity stake.
- MB2 Dental positions itself as a doctor-led partnership model, not a traditional employment DSO.
- Smile Brands is a multi-brand consumer network standardized on one cloud PMS.
- Sonrava Health (Western Dental & Orthodontics) focuses on Medicaid and value markets, with over a century of operating history.
- Smile Doctors is the largest orthodontics-only DSO (OSO) in the U.S.
- Affordable Care is the largest denture- and implant-focused DSO, with 100% stated practice ownership.
- Dental Care Alliance runs 150+ affiliated brands under one umbrella, and practices keep their own name.
- North American Dental Group (NADG) offers regional Northeast/Midwest scale, with real diligence questions attached.
The Top 10 Dental Service Organizations Compared
| Organization | Best Fit | Highlighting Features | Ownership | Affiliation Model | Locations (As Of) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heartland Dental | Largest overall network | 1,900+ supported locations, 38 states; standardized on Dentrix; 2008 FCA settlement on file | KKR (2018) | Employment-oriented | 1,900+ (Apr 2026) |
| Aspen Dental (TAG) | Structured path to ownership | Practice Ownership Program running since 2004; multi-brand portfolio (ClearChoice, WellNow, more); 2 state AG settlements on file (MA 2023, CA 2026) | American Securities (2015) + Ares/Leonard Green (2017) | Equity/ownership | 1,000+ Aspen offices (2022); 1,429 all-brand (Aug 2025) |
| PDS Health | Founder-owned, no PE | Owner Dentist Model, 800+ owner dentists; Epic EHR across 100% of practices; no FCA/AG action found | Founder-owned (Stephen Thorne); no PE stake found | Equity/ownership | ~1,000 (Apr 2024) |
| MB2 Dental | Doctor-led partnership | 800 practices (Sept 2025); 2017 FCA settlement, active Corporate Integrity Agreement; highest Glassdoor score in this list | Charlesbank + Warburg Pincus | Equity/partnership (DPO) | 800 (Sept 2025) |
| Smile Brands | Multi-brand, single PMS standard | 10 consumer brands (Bright Now!, Castle, Monarch, more); Dentrix Ascend exclusive since 2022; 2021 data-breach settlement, ~$13M | Gryphon Investors (2016) | Hybrid: employment + optional POP equity | 600-700+ (site inconsistent; 700 dated Oct 2022) |
| Sonrava Health (Western Dental) | Medicaid/value markets | 5 brands: Western Dental, Brident, DentalWorks, Perfect Teeth, Vital Smiles; over a century of operating history; 1996 state fine, decades of malpractice suits on file | New Mountain Capital (2012) | Employment | 260-580+ depending on brand scope (Feb 2026) |
| Smile Doctors | Orthodontics only | Largest ortho-focused DSO (OSO) in the U.S.; practices independently owned by licensed orthodontists; no FCA/AG action found | Thomas H. Lee Partners (2021) | Equity/ownership | 460+ (Feb 2025); 550+ (site, 2026) |
| Affordable Care | Dentures & implants only | 100% practice ownership stated on its own site; under active debt restructuring as of Apr 2026; no FCA/AG action found | Harvest Partners (under lender pressure) | Equity/ownership (100% stated) | 380+ (2026); 350+ at 2021 deal |
| Dental Care Alliance | 150+ brand umbrella | 400+ affiliated practices keep their own name; Denticon standardized platform; 2020 data-breach settlement, $3M | Mubadala Capital (2023); post-2026 cap table unconfirmed | Not clearly disclosed as equity | ~400 (Apr 2026) |
| North American Dental Group (NADG) | Regional Northeast/Midwest | 2020 investigative reporting on overtreatment pressure; active qui tam FCA suit, unresolved; current location count not independently confirmable | Jacobs Holding (2019) | Hybrid: employment + Path to Partnership | 200+ (2019/2020, not re-confirmed) |
How We Evaluated These 10 Dental Service Organizations
With eight major criteria, each organization was evaluated the same way, so a dentist can weigh the tradeoffs for their own career stage or practice.
- Scale and geographic footprint: how many locations, and across how many states, as of a dated source
- Ownership and financial backing: private equity, founder-owned, or under active debt restructuring
- Affiliation model: equity/practice ownership for dentists, or straight employment
- Specialty coverage: general dentistry only, multi-specialty, or a single specialty focus
- Brand structure: one consumer-facing brand, or a multi-brand portfolio
- Technology and PMS standardization: whether the organization has moved its affiliated practices onto one platform
- Doctor and employee reputation: Glassdoor rating and review count, labeled as an employee-review source
- Regulatory and legal track record: any dated False Claims Act settlement, state Attorney General action, or documented investigative reporting
Disclosure: Needletail AI, an insurance eligibility verification and RCM platform, does not compete with any organization in this list and is not itself a DSO. It appears later in this guide only where the operational challenge these organizations actually face, insurance verification consistency at scale, is directly relevant.
What Is a Dental Service Organization (DSO)?
A Dental Service Organization is a company that manages a dental practice's non-clinical operations, billing, payroll, marketing, HR, and technology, under contract, while state-licensed dentists always keep full authority over diagnosis and treatment, which the DSO is legally barred from directing.
The 10 Dental Service Organizations, in Detail
1. Heartland Dental
The largest DSO in the U.S. by location count, KKR-backed.
Heartland Dental is the largest dental service organization in the United States by supported-practice count, founded in 1997 by Dr. Rick Workman in Effingham, Illinois, where it remains headquartered.
How it operates: Heartland supports dentists with business operations, marketing, HR, and technology at the practice level, describing its arrangement as leaving employment decisions to each supported practice rather than offering a company-wide dentist equity program.
| Highlighting Features | 1,900+ supported locations across 38 states (Apr 2026); world's largest deployment of Dentrix as its standardized PMS; KKR-backed since 2018, after Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan (2012) |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | KKR (majority stake, finalized April 2018); prior majority owner Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan (2012) |
| Affiliation Model | Employment-oriented; own doctor FAQ describes "many of the benefits of ownership with less risk" rather than a formal equity-partnership track |
| Specialties | Multi-specialty, including oral surgery roles advertised directly |
| PMS Platform | Dentrix (Henry Schein One) |
| Regulatory History | 2008 False Claims Act settlement, $3 million, Illinois Medicaid billing allegations; 2022 class action over AI phone-call technology (privacy-related, not billing) |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- Largest network gives the most negotiating leverage with suppliers and insurers
- Single standardized PMS (Dentrix) simplifies onboarding for new supported practices
- Established 1997, longest continuous operating history among the largest general-roll-up organizations here
Limits:
- Employment-oriented model, not a structured equity-ownership path like several peers on this list
- 2008 FCA settlement is now dated, but no more recent regulatory action was found to weigh against it
- Glassdoor score (3.2) sits in the middle of this list, not the top
Who it is for: A dentist who wants the largest possible support infrastructure and values scale over a formal ownership stake. Who should skip it: A dentist whose primary goal in affiliating is to build documented equity in their own practice.
2. Aspen Dental (The Aspen Group)
A structured, 20-year-old path to practice ownership.
The Aspen Group (TAG) is the parent company behind Aspen Dental and a wider multi-brand healthcare portfolio, founded in 1998 and currently headquartered in Chicago, Illinois after relocating from Syracuse, New York.
How it operates: Each Aspen Dental practice is owned and operated by a licensed dentist through the company's Practice Ownership Program (POP), running since 2004, with TAG providing business support rather than employing the dentists directly.
| Highlighting Features | Practice Ownership Program running continuously since 2004 (20th anniversary, Nov 2024); multi-brand portfolio: Aspen Dental, ClearChoice Dental Implant Centers, plus non-dental brands; 1,429 combined-brand locations across 48 states (Aug 2025) |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | American Securities (2015 recapitalization); Ares Management and Leonard Green & Partners increased stakes in 2017 |
| Affiliation Model | Equity/ownership via the Practice Ownership Program; TAG does not itself own or employ the affiliated dentists |
| Specialties | Multi-brand: general dentistry (Aspen Dental) plus implants (ClearChoice); non-dental brands (WellNow Urgent Care, Chapter Aesthetic Studio, Lovet Pet Health Care) sit outside dental care |
| PMS Platform | Not Mentioned |
| Regulatory History | Massachusetts AG settlement, $3.5 million, January 2023 (deceptive advertising, false "all insurance accepted" claims, its second MA enforcement action); California AG settlement, $2.3 million, May 2026 (corporate-practice-of-dentistry violations, incentive pay tied to clear-aligner sales, misleading advertising) |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- One of the longest-running, most clearly documented equity-ownership programs in this list (20 years)
- Large enough scale (1,429 locations across all brands) to offer real negotiating leverage
- Publicly confirmed technology partnerships for digital imaging
Limits:
- Two separate state Attorney General settlements in the last three years (MA 2023, CA 2026), both involving deceptive-advertising and insurance-claim allegations
- No single standardized PMS platform was found publicly named
- The 1,429-location figure is a multi-brand total, not Aspen Dental alone, so it is not directly comparable to single-brand counts elsewhere in this list
Who it is for: A dentist who wants a long-established, formally structured ownership program and is comfortable with a large multi-brand parent company. Who should skip it: A dentist who wants to avoid an organization with recent, dated state regulatory settlements on its record.
3. PDS Health (Pacific Dental Services)
The largest founder-owned DSO, no private equity stake.
PDS Health, rebranded from Pacific Dental Services in April 2024, was founded in 1994 by Stephen E. Thorne IV, who remains Founder and CEO. It is the largest DSO in this list with no disclosed private equity ownership.
How it operates: PDS Health operates an "Owner Dentist Model" in which practice owners lead clinical care while PDS provides operational support, and extended a specialist-ownership model to endodontics, periodontics, orthodontics, and oral surgery in April 2024.
| Highlighting Features | 800+ Owner Dentists under its equity model; world's first DSO to integrate Epic's Comprehensive Health Records across 100% of supported practices (2022); no third-party private equity ownership confirmed in this research |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | Founder-owned (Stephen E. Thorne IV); no PE firm found in this research, which differs materially from every other general-roll-up organization in this list |
| Affiliation Model | Equity/ownership via the Owner Dentist Model, extended to specialists in April 2024 |
| Specialties | Multi-specialty: general dentistry plus endodontics, periodontics, orthodontics, and oral surgery under the specialist-ownership model |
| PMS Platform | Not Mentioned |
| Regulatory History | No False Claims Act settlement or state Attorney General consumer-protection action found in this research; an ERISA 401(k) forfeiture class action and individual civil suits exist but were not independently verified for subject matter |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- Highest Glassdoor score among the seven general-dentistry organizations in this list (3.7)
- No FCA or state AG action found, the cleanest regulatory record among the largest organizations here
- Not private-equity-owned, which removes one specific pressure (an investor-driven exit timeline) that shapes several peers
Limits:
- Multi-hub corporate structure (Irvine CA / Henderson NV / Dallas TX) makes "headquarters" a less simple answer than for other organizations here
- Without a PE sponsor, the actual long-term liquidity or exit path for an affiliated owner-dentist is less externally documented
- Individual federal civil suits exist against the company; their substance was not independently confirmed in this research
Who it is for: A dentist who specifically wants to avoid private-equity ownership and values a founder-led, equity-based model. Who should skip it: A dentist who wants a single, simple corporate headquarters and organizational structure to evaluate.
4. MB2 Dental
A doctor-led partnership model, not a traditional employment DSO.
MB2 Dental brands itself as a Dental Partnership Organization (DPO) rather than a conventional DSO, founded in February 2007 by Dr. Chris Steven Villanueva and headquartered in Carrollton, Texas (Dallas-Fort Worth).
How it operates: MB2 structures affiliation as a partnership in which practice owners retain autonomy and equity, describing itself as "redefining how dentists can thrive... through a true partnership rooted in shared success" rather than an employer-employee relationship.
| Highlighting Features | 800 affiliated practices as of September 2025, branded "Nation's Largest Dental Partnership Organization"; highest Glassdoor score in this comparison (4.4); multiple institutional investors across three ownership stages since 2007 |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | Charlesbank Capital Partners (majority interest, 2021, acquired from Sentinel Capital Partners); Warburg Pincus joined as a new investor in a November 2024 recapitalization alongside Charlesbank; KKR provides a separate $2.3 billion debt facility, not an equity stake |
| Affiliation Model | Equity/partnership (self-described Dental Partnership Organization) |
| Specialties | Multi-specialty, including orthodontics and oral surgery within its affiliated-practice network |
| PMS Platform | Not Mentioned |
| Regulatory History | False Claims Act and Texas Medicaid Fraud Prevention Act settlement, $8.45 million, January 2017 (MB2 Dental Solutions and 21 affiliated pediatric practices; allegations included claims for services not performed and illegal kickbacks); MB2 currently operates under an active HHS-OIG Corporate Integrity Agreement as a result |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- By a wide margin the highest employee/doctor satisfaction score in this comparison (4.4 vs. a 3.0-3.7 range for peers)
- Explicit partnership-not-employment positioning, with institutional backing to match (Charlesbank, Warburg Pincus)
- Fast growth, doubling from 400 to 800 practices between 2022 and 2025
Limits:
- A significant, specific 2017 False Claims Act settlement involving pediatric dental services and kickback allegations
- Currently operating under an active federal Corporate Integrity Agreement, a real ongoing compliance obligation, not just historical record
- No PMS platform publicly confirmed
Who it is for: A dentist who wants explicit partnership framing and is comfortable weighing a 2017 settlement against a since-established compliance program. Who should skip it: A dentist who wants zero regulatory settlement history to research before affiliating.
5. Smile Brands
A multi-brand consumer network standardized on one cloud PMS.
Smile Brands is a multi-brand DSO founded in 1998, headquartered in Irvine, California, and currently owned by Gryphon Investors, which acquired the company in 2016 (its second time owning a Smile Brands predecessor, having previously owned Bright Now! Dental from 1998 to 2005).
How it operates: Smile Brands provides comprehensive business support to its affiliate dental groups through exclusive long-term agreements, offering an employment-first model with an optional equity path through its own Practice Ownership Program.
| Highlighting Features | 10+ consumer brands, including Bright Now!, Castle Dental, Monarch Dental, Midwest Dental, and Merit Dental; Dentrix Ascend made the exclusive PMS across all locations, October 2022; 600-700+ offices, the company's own locations page states both figures inconsistently |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | Gryphon Investors, since 2016 (not TSG Consumer Partners, a name that surfaces only in connection with an unrelated company, Specialty Dental Brands) |
| Affiliation Model | Hybrid: primarily employment, with an optional equity path via its Practice Ownership Program |
| Specialties | Multi-specialty across its brand portfolio, including orthodontics under several brand names |
| PMS Platform | Dentrix Ascend (Henry Schein One) |
| Regulatory History | No False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found; a 2021 data breach exposing roughly 1.5 million patients' information led to a class-action settlement expected to exceed $13 million, with no court finding of liability |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- One of the only organizations in this list with a fully confirmed, single, company-wide PMS standard (Dentrix Ascend)
- Broad multi-brand consumer footprint across many regional markets
- No FCA/AG billing-fraud action found in this research
Limits:
- A large, real 2021 data-breach settlement affecting roughly 1.5 million patients (a cybersecurity matter, not a billing-fraud one, but a real incident nonetheless)
- The company's own locations page states two different total-office counts (600+ and 700+) without reconciling them
- Hybrid affiliation model is less explicitly equity-forward than Aspen Dental, PDS Health, or MB2 Dental
Who it is for: A dentist joining an established consumer brand who wants a single, already-standardized cloud PMS rather than a data migration project. Who should skip it: A practice with recent, unresolved concerns about patient-data security history.
6. Sonrava Health (Western Dental & Orthodontics)
Medicaid- and value-market focus, over a century of operating history.
Sonrava Health is the parent company of Western Dental & Orthodontics (renamed from Western Dental in 2022), headquartered in Orange, California, with a Western Dental brand tracing back over a century of operation.
How it operates: Sonrava operates its affiliated brands on a direct employment model, with associate dentists mentored by a managing doctor at each location, rather than a dentist equity-ownership structure.
| Highlighting Features | 5 affiliated brands: Western Dental, Brident Dental & Orthodontics, DentalWorks, Perfect Teeth, Vital Smiles; 260-580+ locations depending on brand scope measured (Feb 2026); owned by New Mountain Capital since 2012 |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | New Mountain Capital, since November 2012 |
| Affiliation Model | Employment; no equity-ownership program found on the company's own career materials |
| Specialties | General dentistry and orthodontics (Western Dental & Orthodontics, Brident Dental & Orthodontics) |
| PMS Platform | Not Mentioned |
| Regulatory History | California Department of Corporations fine, $1.2 million, 1996 ("consistent disregard for quality of care and patient health"); documented history of 65+ lawsuits per one plaintiffs' attorney quoted in 2010 reporting, including a $120,000 nerve-injury settlement; a $3 million California late-fees class-action settlement; a TCPA unwanted-communications class action |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- Longest continuous operating history of any organization in this list (Western Dental traces to the early 1900s)
- Value/Medicaid-market focus fills a real access gap other organizations in this list don't prioritize
- Multi-state footprint across California, Arizona, Nevada, and Texas through its Brident brand
Limits:
- Lowest Glassdoor score in this entire comparison (2.3 out of 5, on a small sample of 39 reviews)
- The most extensive documented regulatory and litigation history in this list, spanning three decades
- Straight employment model, no equity-ownership path found, unlike five of the other nine organizations here
Who it is for: A dentist specifically motivated to serve Medicaid and value-focused patient populations at scale. Who should skip it: A dentist prioritizing employee satisfaction data or an equity-ownership path.
7. Smile Doctors
The largest orthodontics-only DSO (OSO) in the U.S.
Smile Doctors is the largest orthodontics-focused dental support organization (often called an OSO, for orthodontic support organization) in the United States, founded in 2015 and currently headquartered in Dallas, Texas.
How it operates: Smile Doctors affiliates exclusively with orthodontic practices, which remain independently owned and operated by licensed orthodontists, growing primarily through acquiring existing independent ortho practices rather than opening de novo locations.
| Highlighting Features | Largest network of Diamond Plus Invisalign providers in the U.S.; 460+ locations (Feb 2025), 550+ stated on its current site (2026); acquired by Thomas H. Lee Partners in 2021 at roughly a $2.4 billion valuation |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | Thomas H. Lee Partners, since 2021 |
| Affiliation Model | Equity/independent-ownership model; practices are owned and operated by licensed orthodontists |
| Specialties | Orthodontics only, no general dentistry |
| PMS Platform | Not Mentioned |
| Regulatory History | No False Claims Act settlement, state AG action, or overtreatment class action found in this research; one active FMLA employment dispute (Shannon v. Smile Doctors LLC, filed September 2025) exists but concerns employment leave, not billing or patient care |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- No regulatory or overtreatment action found in this research, one of only two organizations in this list with a clean record on that specific point
- Clear, single-specialty focus with a genuine equity-ownership model for affiliating orthodontists
- Backed by an experienced healthcare-focused PE firm (Thomas H. Lee Partners)
Limits:
- Two different current location counts (460+ from Feb 2025, 550+ from its own 2026 site) without either being labeled as superseding the other
- Single-specialty focus means it has no relevance to a general dentistry practice
- Smaller Glassdoor sample size (230 reviews) than most other organizations in this list
Who it is for: An orthodontist evaluating a specialty-only support organization with an equity path. Who should skip it: A general dentistry practice; this organization has no general-dentistry offering.
8. Affordable Care
The largest denture- and implant-focused DSO, 100% practice ownership.
Affordable Care is the parent company of Affordable Dentures & Implants and DDS Dentures + Implant Solutions, founded in 1975 and headquartered in Morrisville, North Carolina, focused specifically on tooth-replacement care.
How it operates: Affordable Care structures affiliation around full practice ownership, stating on its own dentist-recruitment materials that "our dentists have 100% ownership and equity in their practice."
| Highlighting Features | 100% stated practice ownership and equity for affiliated dentists; 380+ practices across 39 states (2026); two brands: Affordable Dentures & Implants and DDS Dentures + Implant Solutions (joined 2019) |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | Harvest Partners acquired the company from Berkshire Partners in 2021 for roughly $2.7 billion; as of April 2026 the company is under active private-credit debt restructuring, with Harvest Partners still the reported equity owner at that point |
| Affiliation Model | Equity/ownership, stated as 100% on the company's own recruitment page |
| Specialties | Dentures and dental implants only, not general restorative dentistry |
| PMS Platform | Not Mentioned |
| Regulatory History | No False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found in this research; one civil suit found (Burroughs et al. v. Affordable Care, LLC) concerns a 2022 clinic shooting and premises-liability allegations, not billing or care quality, and was dismissed with leave to amend |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- The clearest, most explicit 100% equity-ownership statement of any organization in this list
- No FCA/AG billing-fraud or overtreatment action found in this research
- Longest single-brand niche focus (dentures and implants since 1975)
Limits:
- Under active private-credit debt restructuring as of April 2026, worth asking about directly given how recently marked-down debt has been reported
- Single-niche focus (dentures and implants) means no relevance to a general restorative practice
- Location count varies by source and date (350+ at 2021 deal vs. 380+ stated for 2026) without a single reconciled figure
Who it is for: A dentures- and implant-focused practice owner who wants the most explicit stated equity terms in this comparison. Who should skip it: A practice owner wary of affiliating with an organization currently undergoing debt restructuring.
9. Dental Care Alliance
150+ affiliated brands under one umbrella, practices keep their own name.
Dental Care Alliance (DCA) was founded in 1991 and is headquartered in Sarasota, Florida, describing itself as supporting over 150 affiliated practice brands, each of which keeps its own local name rather than rebranding.
How it operates: DCA uses "allied practice" and partnership language on its own site, but unlike Aspen Dental, PDS Health, MB2 Dental, Smile Doctors, and Affordable Care, it does not state an explicit dentist equity percentage anywhere in its own materials found during this research.
| Highlighting Features | 150+ affiliated brands, practices keep their own name; 400+ practices across 24 states (April 2026); standardized on Denticon (Planet DDS) as its cloud PMS |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | Mubadala Capital took a controlling stake in January 2023 alongside Harvest Partners; a April 2026 debt restructuring reduced debt by more than $1.1 billion and secured $95 million in new capital, but the resulting ownership/cap table was not disclosed in the announcement |
| Affiliation Model | Not clearly disclosed as an equity model in company materials found; described only in "allied"/partnership language |
| Specialties | Multi-specialty across its 150+ affiliated brands |
| PMS Platform | Denticon (Planet DDS) |
| Regulatory History | No False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found; a confirmed data-breach class action settlement of $3 million (approved August 2022) followed a September 2020 breach exposing information for 1,723,375 individuals |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- Lets an affiliated practice keep its own local brand name rather than forcing a rebrand
- Confirmed, standardized cloud PMS (Denticon) across the network
- No FCA/AG billing-fraud action found in this research
Limits:
- The only organization among the five with an equity-adjacent pitch in this list that does not state a specific ownership percentage anywhere found
- Recent large-scale debt restructuring (April 2026) with an unresolved post-transaction ownership structure
- A confirmed data-breach settlement affecting over 1.7 million individuals, one of the largest such incidents in this comparison
Who it is for: A practice owner who wants to keep an existing local brand name and values a confirmed, standardized PMS. Who should skip it: A dentist who specifically wants a stated equity percentage in writing before affiliating.
10. North American Dental Group (NADG)
Regional Northeast/Midwest scale, with real diligence questions attached.
North American Dental Group was founded in 2008 by Ken Cooper and Dr. Andrew Matta and is headquartered in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, operating regionally across the Northeast and Midwest.
How it operates: NADG describes a hybrid model combining standard employment with an optional "Path to Partnership" and joint-venture program, though the current detail of that program could not be independently re-confirmed against a live company page during this research.
| Highlighting Features | 200+ practices across 11-13 states as of 2019-2020 figures (current count not independently re-confirmed); owned by Jacobs Holding since 2019; hybrid employment plus "Path to Partnership" program |
|---|---|
| Ownership/Backing | Jacobs Holding AG, acquired 2019 from prior investors Abry Partners and The Riverside Company; co-founders retained significant equity |
| Affiliation Model | Hybrid: standard employment with an optional Path to Partnership/joint-venture track |
| Specialties | General and multi-specialty dental care |
| PMS Platform | Not Mentioned |
| Regulatory History | A March 2020 joint USA Today/Newsy investigative report, built on over a year of reporting and interviews with dozens of former dentists, employees, and patients, alleged systemic pressure on dentists to overtreat, including specific named patient cases; a related qui tam False Claims Act suit alleging false Ohio Medicaid claims was filed the same month and, per the sources checked, has not been reported as settled or resolved; NADG denied the allegations in the original reporting |
| Review | Not Rated |
Strengths:
- Established regional presence across the Northeast and Midwest since 2008
- Backed by a large, long-term-oriented family holding company (Jacobs Holding) rather than a typical buyout-and-exit PE fund
- Offers a stated partnership track alongside standard employment
Limits:
- The most serious documented allegations in this entire comparison: a detailed 2020 investigative report on overtreatment pressure, with an unresolved related qui tam suit still on file
- Current location count could not be independently re-confirmed (the company's own about page was inaccessible during this research)
- Brand and sub-practice list not independently confirmed
Who it is for: A dentist in NADG's specific regional footprint who has independently verified the current state of the 2020 allegations to their own satisfaction. Who should skip it: A dentist who wants to affiliate without first researching an unresolved regulatory allegation.
Which Dental Service Organization Fits Your Career Stage or Practice
The right DSO, or whether affiliating makes sense at all, depends far more on the career stage and what you actually want out of the arrangement than on which organization is largest.
| Your Situation | Choose | Skip |
|---|---|---|
| Recent graduate wanting mentorship and no practice-management burden | Heartland Dental, Aspen Dental | MB2 Dental, PDS Health (both favor established owner-operators over new associates) |
| Established solo owner considering a full sale for liquidity | Smile Brands, Dental Care Alliance, Sonrava Health | Smile Doctors, Affordable Care (both are single-specialty and won't fit a general practice) |
| Owner who wants to keep real equity and clinical say, not just a payout | PDS Health, MB2 Dental, Aspen Dental | Sonrava Health (Western Dental) (straight employment model) |
| Orthodontist evaluating a specialty-only DSO (OSO) | Smile Doctors | Every general-dentistry organization in this list |
| Denture and implant practice owner | Affordable Care | Organizations without a dedicated prosthodontic/implant focus |
| Practice owner who wants heavy diligence on regulatory history first | PDS Health, Smile Doctors (no FCA/AG action found in this research) | NADG, MB2 Dental, Sonrava Health, Aspen Dental (all carry dated regulatory history worth asking about directly) |
How Big Is the DSO Segment, and How Fast Is It Growing?
DSO affiliation among U.S. dentists more than doubled in under a decade: from 7.2% in 2015 to 16.1% in 2024, per the ADA Health Policy Institute's most recent workforce survey (August 2025). The growth is heavily concentrated among new graduates: 26.5% of dentists within 10 years of graduation were DSO-affiliated in 2024, against just 9.1% of dentists with 25 or more years of experience.
| Year | Share of U.S. Dentists DSO-Affiliated |
|---|---|
| 2015 | 7.2% |
| 2017 | 8.5% |
| 2019 | 10.0% |
| 2021 | 11.1% |
| 2023 | 13.8% |
| 2024 | 16.1% |
Source: American Dental Association Health Policy Institute, "The U.S. Dentist Workforce," August 2025.
For the dollar size of the U.S. DSO market itself, Grand View Research puts it at $26.9 billion in 2023, projected to reach $76.2 billion by 2030 at a 16.4% compound annual growth rate. That figure comes from a market-research publisher whose report page is a living document that gets overwritten as forecasts roll forward, unlike the ADA's dated PDF survey, so it is presented here with that caveat rather than as a fixed number.
Not All DSOs Are the Same Kind of Organization
The 10 organizations in this comparison fall into genuinely different structural types, and the type matters more than the size when a dentist is deciding whether to affiliate.
| Type | What It Is | Which of the 10 | What To Ask |
|---|---|---|---|
| General multi-brand roll-up | Acquires and operates many general-dentistry practices, often under several consumer brand names | Heartland Dental, Aspen Dental, Smile Brands, Sonrava Health, Dental Care Alliance, NADG | Which brand will my practice operate under, and does that change? |
| Partnership/DPO model | Structures affiliation as a doctor-led partnership rather than a conventional employer-employee DSO relationship | MB2 Dental | What percentage of the practice do I actually own after affiliating, in writing? |
| Founder-owned, integrated model | Privately held by its founder rather than a private equity firm, expanding into adjacent care models | PDS Health | Since there is no PE sponsor, what is the actual exit or liquidity path for an affiliated owner-dentist? |
| Single-specialty organization (OSO) | Focuses exclusively on one specialty rather than general dentistry | Smile Doctors (orthodontics) | Does the organization have any general-dentistry infrastructure my patients would need? |
| Niche-focus organization | Built around one specific service category rather than general practice | Affordable Care (dentures and implants) | What happens to patients who need services outside that specific niche? |
Top 10 Dental Service Organizations Affiliation Terms in Detail
DSOs do not publish a retail "price." What they publish, unevenly, is how affiliation actually works: equity or employment, and what the organization itself says about it.
| Organization | Stated Affiliation Model | What the Organization States, as Published | Equity Percentage Disclosed? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heartland Dental | Employment-oriented | "Many of the benefits of ownership with less risk" | No |
| Aspen Dental (TAG) | Equity/ownership | Practice Ownership Program, running since 2004 | Not as a percentage; described as full practice ownership |
| PDS Health | Equity/ownership | "Owner Dentist Model," 800+ Owner Dentists, extended to specialists in 2024 | Not as a percentage; described as ownership |
| MB2 Dental | Equity/partnership | Self-described "Dental Partnership Organization," not a DSO | Not disclosed as a percentage |
| Smile Brands | Hybrid | Employment-first, with an optional equity path via its own Practice Ownership Program | Not disclosed as a percentage |
| Sonrava Health (Western Dental) | Employment | Associate dentists mentored by a Managing Doctor; standard employee benefits | No, not an equity model |
| Smile Doctors | Equity/ownership | "Practices are owned and operated by licensed orthodontists" | Not disclosed as a percentage |
| Affordable Care | Equity/ownership | "Our dentists have 100% ownership and equity in their practice" | Yes, 100% stated directly |
| Dental Care Alliance | Not clearly disclosed as equity | "Allied practices," partnership language, no ownership percentage found | No |
| North American Dental Group (NADG) | Hybrid | Standard employment plus an optional "Path to Partnership" and joint-venture program | Not disclosed as a percentage |
"As published" means the organization's own site or recruitment materials, not a third-party estimate. Where no percentage is stated, that absence is itself the finding, not an inference about what the real number might be.
Equity and Partnership Claims: What Is Actually Documented
"Equity" and "partnership" are the two words every organization in this list not built on straight employment reaches for. How well each claim is actually corroborated varies sharply.
- Affordable Care is the single most specific claim in this comparison: "100% ownership and equity in their practice," stated in its own recruitment materials, with no hedge or percentage range.
- Aspen Dental's Practice Ownership Program has the longest documented track record (running since 2004, marked its 20th anniversary in a dated November 2024 press release), though it does not state a specific equity percentage.
- PDS Health's Owner Dentist Model names a concrete headcount, 800+ Owner Dentists, and extended the same structure to specialists in a dated April 2024 announcement, which is more specific than most peers, though again without a stated percentage.
- MB2 Dental and Smile Doctors both describe practices as owned by the affiliated doctor, but neither publishes a specific equity percentage or a sample agreement.
- Dental Care Alliance is the clearest gap: its own site describes "allied practices" and partnership language, but no equity claim, percentage, or ownership structure was found anywhere in company materials checked for this guide.
The practical takeaway for a dentist evaluating any of these: a stated headcount or program name (PDS Health, Aspen Dental) is more verifiable than a general word like "partnership" with nothing behind it (Dental Care Alliance, NADG), and neither is a substitute for reading the actual affiliation agreement.
8 Things Worth Checking Before You Affiliate With Any DSO
Each of these traces to something specific found during research for this guide, not a generic warning.
| Red Flag | Ask This | Answer That Should Give You Pause |
|---|---|---|
| A dated False Claims Act settlement on the organization's record | Can you walk me through what changed in your billing compliance program since that settlement? | They are not aware of, or will not discuss, a settlement that is a matter of public record |
| An active Corporate Integrity Agreement | Are you currently operating under any federal compliance monitoring agreement? | They answer no when a public HHS-OIG listing says otherwise |
| A name that overlaps with a different, similarly named parent company | Can you confirm your exact legal entity name and current parent company? | They cannot clearly state their own current corporate name or ownership |
| "Partnership" language with no stated equity percentage anywhere | What percentage of the practice will I actually own, in writing, after affiliating? | They cannot or will not give a specific number before you sign |
| A location count that has not been updated on the organization's own site in over a year | Can I see your current, dated practice count and where you found it? | The number they give doesn't match what's on their own current site |
| Recent debt restructuring or a lender-driven ownership change | Has your ownership or capital structure changed in the last 12 months? | They describe the organization as stable when a recent restructuring is a matter of public record |
| Investigative reporting alleging overtreatment pressure at the organization | How do you measure and reward dentist performance internally, and is revenue part of that? | Revenue-per-visit or similar production metrics are explicitly part of dentist compensation or review |
| A Glassdoor rating far below the rest of the category | Can you connect me with a current or recently departed dentist at one of your locations? | They cannot or will not provide a reference beyond their own recruiting materials |
A 12-Question Checklist Before You Sign With Any Dental Service Organization
- What percentage of my practice will I actually own after affiliating, in writing, not just in marketing language?
- Is there a private equity sponsor, and if so, what is that firm's typical holding period and exit strategy?
- What is the current, dated location count, and where can I independently verify it?
- Are you currently operating under any federal Corporate Integrity Agreement or similar compliance monitoring?
- Has your organization settled any False Claims Act allegations, and if so, what changed afterward?
- What practice management system will my office run on, and who pays for the transition?
- How is dentist compensation or performance measured, and is production or revenue part of that measurement?
- What happens to my existing staff and their employment terms after affiliation?
- Can I speak directly with a current or recently departed affiliated dentist as a reference?
- What is the actual process and timeline if I want to exit the affiliation later?
- Has your ownership or capital structure changed in the last 12 months?
- Does the organization have any current, unresolved investigative reporting or litigation I should read before signing?
Source Note and Verification Status
Every fact in this guide traces to a named source, never to memory alone. Research drew on Becker's Dental Review, DrBicuspid, Medix Dental, and Orbital in addition to the client-supplied source list, since no single listicle was treated as sufficient.
Confirmed from primary or independent sources:
- DSO affiliation rate among U.S. dentists (7.2% in 2015 to 16.1% in 2024, 26.5% among new graduates), per the ADA Health Policy Institute's "The U.S. Dentist Workforce," August 2025.
- Heartland Dental: KKR majority stake finalized April 2018 (prior majority owner Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan, 2012); 2008 False Claims Act settlement, $3 million; Dentrix as standardized PMS, per Henry Schein One.
- Aspen Dental: HQ relocation to Chicago (2018, expanded 2021); Practice Ownership Program since 2004; Massachusetts AG settlement $3.5 million (Jan 2023); California AG settlement $2.3 million (May 2026), per oag.ca.gov and mass.gov.
- PDS Health: rebrand from Pacific Dental Services, April 2024; Epic EHR deployment across 100% of practices, August 2022; founder-owned, no PE stake found.
- MB2 Dental: $8.45 million False Claims Act and Texas Medicaid Fraud Prevention Act settlement, January 2017, per the Texas Attorney General and DOJ; active HHS-OIG Corporate Integrity Agreement confirmed via HHS-OIG's own CIA listing.
- Smile Brands: Gryphon Investors ownership since 2016, confirmed via Gryphon's own live portfolio page; Dentrix Ascend as exclusive PMS since October 2022; 2021 data-breach class-action settlement exceeding $13 million.
- Sonrava Health/Western Dental: New Mountain Capital ownership since 2012; 1996 California Department of Corporations fine, $1.2 million; brand list (Western Dental, Brident, DentalWorks, Perfect Teeth, Vital Smiles) per sonrava.com.
- Smile Doctors: Thomas H. Lee Partners acquisition, 2021; HQ confirmed as Dallas, TX via the company's own site and THL's portfolio page.
- Affordable Care: Harvest Partners acquisition from Berkshire Partners, 2021, ~$2.7 billion; "100% ownership and equity" stated on the company's own recruitment page; active debt restructuring reported April 2026.
- Dental Care Alliance: Mubadala Capital controlling stake, January 2023; Denticon (Planet DDS) standardized PMS; $3 million data-breach class-action settlement (approved August 2022) for a 2020 breach affecting 1,723,375 individuals.
- North American Dental Group: Jacobs Holding acquisition, 2019; March 2020 USA Today/Newsy investigative report on overtreatment allegations; related qui tam False Claims Act suit filed the same month.
- U.S. DSO market size, $26.9 billion (2023) projected to $76.2 billion by 2030, per Grand View Research, last updated February 2025.
Vendor claims, carried as claims:
- All stated equity percentages and partnership language (Affordable Care's "100%," PDS Health's "Owner Dentist Model," MB2 Dental's "Dental Partnership Organization" framing) are the organizations' own stated positioning, not independently audited cap tables.
- All Glassdoor ratings are self-selected employee reviews, not an independently sampled survey, and are explicitly labeled as an employee-review platform throughout this guide rather than a patient-satisfaction measure.
- Location counts throughout are as published by each organization or a dated trade-press source; DSOs acquire practices continuously and any figure here should be reconfirmed before being treated as current.
Unresolved or could not be fully verified:
- North American Dental Group's current location count could not be independently reconfirmed; its own about-us page could not be accessed during this research, and the qui tam suit related to its 2020 overtreatment allegations was not reported as resolved in any source checked.
- Dental Care Alliance's post-April-2026 ownership structure is not disclosed in either the company's own release or trade-press coverage of its debt restructuring; whether Mubadala Capital retains equity or the lender group now controls the company could not be confirmed.
- Smile Doctors' and NADG's exact current PMS platforms, and PMS platforms for Sonrava Health/Western Dental and Affordable Care, were not found publicly stated anywhere.
- Western Dental's often-cited 1903 founding date is widely repeated across secondary sources but could not be traced to a primary Sonrava/Western Dental page in this research.
Compiled 7 September 2026. Location counts, ownership structures, and affiliation terms in this category change frequently, reconfirm directly with the organization before relying on any figure here for a real decision.









