Top 10 Dental Service Organizations in 2026: How To Choose

Compare the top 10 dental service organizations by scale, ownership, affiliation model, and regulatory record, plus a 12-question checklist.

Georgey JacobGeorgey Jacob|
37 min read
Top 10 Dental Service Organizations in 2026: How To Choose

The best dental service organizations in 2026 are PDS Health and Smile Doctors for the cleanest regulatory record; MB2 Dental and Aspen Dental (TAG) for a genuine, documented equity-ownership path; Heartland Dental for the largest overall support network; and Affordable Care for the most explicit 100% ownership stated directly in writing.

TL;DR

  1. Heartland Dental — Best for largest overall network
  2. Aspen Dental (TAG) — Best structured path to practice ownership
  3. PDS Health — Best founder-owned option, no private equity stake
  4. MB2 Dental — Best doctor-led partnership model
  5. Smile Brands — Best multi-brand network, single PMS standard
  6. Sonrava Health (Western Dental) — Best for Medicaid and value markets
  7. Smile Doctors — Best orthodontics-only DSO (OSO)
  8. Affordable Care — Best denture- and implant-focused DSO
  9. Dental Care Alliance — Best 150+ brand umbrella, practices keep their own name
  10. North American Dental Group (NADG) — Best regional Northeast/Midwest scale

The Top 10 Dental Service Organizations Compared

OrganizationBest FitHighlighting FeaturesOwnershipAffiliation ModelLocations (As Of)
Heartland DentalLargest overall network• 1,900+ supported locations, 38 states
• Standardized on Dentrix
• 2008 FCA settlement on file
KKR (2018)Employment-oriented1,900+ (Apr 2026)
Aspen Dental (TAG)Structured path to ownership• Practice Ownership Program running since 2004
• Multi-brand portfolio (ClearChoice, WellNow, more)
• 2 state AG settlements on file (MA 2023, CA 2026)
American Securities (2015) + Ares/Leonard Green (2017)Equity/ownership1,000+ Aspen offices (2022); 1,429 all-brand (Aug 2025)
PDS HealthFounder-owned, no PE• Owner Dentist Model, 800+ owner dentists
• Epic EHR across 100% of practices
• No FCA/AG action found
Founder-owned (Stephen Thorne); no PE stake foundEquity/ownership~1,000 (Apr 2024)
MB2 DentalDoctor-led partnership• 800 practices (Sept 2025)
• 2017 FCA settlement, active Corporate Integrity Agreement
• Highest Glassdoor score in this list
Charlesbank + Warburg PincusEquity/partnership (DPO)800 (Sept 2025)
Smile BrandsMulti-brand, single PMS standard• 10 consumer brands (Bright Now!, Castle, Monarch, more)
• Dentrix Ascend exclusive since 2022
• 2021 data-breach settlement, ~$13M
Gryphon Investors (2016)Hybrid: employment + optional POP equity600-700+ (site inconsistent; 700 dated Oct 2022)
Sonrava Health (Western Dental)Medicaid/value markets• 5 brands: Western Dental, Brident, DentalWorks, Perfect Teeth, Vital Smiles
• Over a century of operating history
• 1996 state fine, decades of malpractice suits on file
New Mountain Capital (2012)Employment260-580+ depending on brand scope (Feb 2026)
Smile DoctorsOrthodontics only• Largest ortho-focused DSO (OSO) in the U.S.
• Practices independently owned by licensed orthodontists
• No FCA/AG action found
Thomas H. Lee Partners (2021)Equity/ownership460+ (Feb 2025); 550+ (site, 2026)
Affordable CareDentures & implants only• 100% practice ownership stated on its own site
• Under active debt restructuring as of Apr 2026
• No FCA/AG action found
Harvest Partners (under lender pressure)Equity/ownership (100% stated)380+ (2026); 350+ at 2021 deal
Dental Care Alliance150+ brand umbrella• 400+ affiliated practices keep their own name
• Denticon standardized platform
• 2020 data-breach settlement, $3M
Mubadala Capital (2023); post-2026 cap table unconfirmedNot clearly disclosed as equity~400 (Apr 2026)
North American Dental Group (NADG)Regional Northeast/Midwest• 2020 investigative reporting on overtreatment pressure
• Active qui tam FCA suit, unresolved
• Current location count not independently confirmable
Jacobs Holding (2019)Hybrid: employment + Path to Partnership200+ (2019/2020, not re-confirmed)

How We Evaluated These 10 Dental Service Organizations

With eight major criteria, each organization was evaluated the same way, so a dentist can weigh the tradeoffs for their own career stage or practice.

  1. Scale and geographic footprint. How many locations, and across how many states, as of a dated source.
  2. Ownership and financial backing. Private equity, founder-owned, or under active debt restructuring.
  3. Affiliation model. Equity/practice ownership for dentists, or straight employment.
  4. Specialty coverage. General dentistry only, multi-specialty, or a single specialty focus.
  5. Brand structure. One consumer-facing brand, or a multi-brand portfolio.
  6. Technology and PMS standardization. Whether the organization has moved its affiliated practices onto one platform.
  7. Doctor and employee reputation. Glassdoor rating and review count, labeled as an employee-review source.
  8. Regulatory and legal track record. Any dated False Claims Act settlement, state Attorney General action, or documented investigative reporting.

Disclosure. Needletail AI, an insurance eligibility verification and RCM platform, does not compete with any organization in this list and is not itself a DSO. It appears later in this guide only where the operational challenge these organizations actually face, insurance verification consistency at scale, is directly relevant.

What Is a Dental Service Organization (DSO)?

A Dental Service Organization is a company that manages a dental practice's non-clinical operations, billing, payroll, marketing, HR, and technology, under contract, while state-licensed dentists always keep full authority over diagnosis and treatment, which the DSO is legally barred from directing.

The 10 Dental Service Organizations, in Detail

1. Heartland Dental

Employment-oriented · Largest overall network

Heartland Dental is the largest dental service organization in the United States by supported-practice count, founded in 1997 by Dr. Rick Workman in Effingham, Illinois, where it remains headquartered.

How it operates

Heartland supports dentists with business operations, marketing, HR, and technology at the practice level, describing its arrangement as leaving employment decisions to each supported practice rather than offering a company-wide dentist equity program.

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• 1,900+ supported locations across 38 states (Apr 2026)
• World's largest deployment of Dentrix as its standardized PMS
• KKR-backed since 2018, after Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan (2012)
Ownership/BackingKKR (majority stake, finalized April 2018); prior majority owner Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan (2012)
Affiliation ModelEmployment-oriented; own doctor FAQ describes "many of the benefits of ownership with less risk" rather than a formal equity-partnership track
SpecialtiesMulti-specialty, including oral surgery roles advertised directly
PMS PlatformDentrix (Henry Schein One)
Regulatory History2008 False Claims Act settlement, $3 million, Illinois Medicaid billing allegations; 2022 class action over AI phone-call technology (privacy-related, not billing)
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • Largest network gives the most negotiating leverage with suppliers and insurers.
  • Single standardized PMS (Dentrix) simplifies onboarding for new supported practices.
  • Established 1997, longest continuous operating history among the largest general-roll-up organizations here.

Limits

  • Employment-oriented model, not a structured equity-ownership path like several peers on this list.
  • 2008 FCA settlement is now dated, but no more recent regulatory action was found to weigh against it.
  • Glassdoor score (3.2) sits in the middle of this list, not the top.

Who it is for. A dentist who wants the largest possible support infrastructure and values scale over a formal ownership stake.

Who should skip it? A dentist whose primary goal in affiliating is to build documented equity in their own practice.

2. Aspen Dental (The Aspen Group)

Equity/ownership · Structured path to practice ownership

The Aspen Group (TAG) is the parent company behind Aspen Dental and a wider multi-brand healthcare portfolio, founded in 1998 and currently headquartered in Chicago, Illinois after relocating from Syracuse, New York.

How it operates

Each Aspen Dental practice is owned and operated by a licensed dentist through the company's Practice Ownership Program (POP), running since 2004, with TAG providing business support rather than employing the dentists directly.

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• Practice Ownership Program running continuously since 2004 (20th anniversary, Nov 2024)
• Multi-brand portfolio: Aspen Dental, ClearChoice Dental Implant Centers, plus non-dental brands
• 1,429 combined-brand locations across 48 states (Aug 2025)
Ownership/BackingAmerican Securities (2015 recapitalization); Ares Management and Leonard Green & Partners increased stakes in 2017
Affiliation ModelEquity/ownership via the Practice Ownership Program; TAG does not itself own or employ the affiliated dentists
SpecialtiesMulti-brand: general dentistry (Aspen Dental) plus implants (ClearChoice); non-dental brands (WellNow Urgent Care, Chapter Aesthetic Studio, Lovet Pet Health Care) sit outside dental care
PMS PlatformNot Mentioned
Regulatory HistoryMassachusetts AG settlement, $3.5 million, January 2023 (deceptive advertising, false "all insurance accepted" claims, its second MA enforcement action); California AG settlement, $2.3 million, May 2026 (corporate-practice-of-dentistry violations, incentive pay tied to clear-aligner sales, misleading advertising)
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • One of the longest-running, most clearly documented equity-ownership programs in this list (20 years).
  • Large enough scale (1,429 locations across all brands) to offer real negotiating leverage.
  • Publicly confirmed technology partnerships for digital imaging.

Limits

  • Two separate state Attorney General settlements in the last three years (MA 2023, CA 2026), both involving deceptive-advertising and insurance-claim allegations.
  • No single standardized PMS platform was found publicly named.
  • The 1,429-location figure is a multi-brand total, not Aspen Dental alone, so it is not directly comparable to single-brand counts elsewhere in this list.

Who it is for. A dentist who wants a long-established, formally structured ownership program and is comfortable with a large multi-brand parent company.

Who should skip it? A dentist who wants to avoid an organization with recent, dated state regulatory settlements on its record.

3. PDS Health (Pacific Dental Services)

Equity/ownership · Founder-owned, no PE stake

PDS Health, rebranded from Pacific Dental Services in April 2024, was founded in 1994 by Stephen E. Thorne IV, who remains Founder and CEO. It is the largest DSO in this list with no disclosed private equity ownership.

How it operates

PDS Health operates an "Owner Dentist Model" in which practice owners lead clinical care while PDS provides operational support, and extended a specialist-ownership model to endodontics, periodontics, orthodontics, and oral surgery in April 2024.

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• 800+ Owner Dentists under its equity model
• World's first DSO to integrate Epic's Comprehensive Health Records across 100% of supported practices (2022)
• No third-party private equity ownership confirmed in this research
Ownership/BackingFounder-owned (Stephen E. Thorne IV); no PE firm found in this research, which differs materially from every other general-roll-up organization in this list
Affiliation ModelEquity/ownership via the Owner Dentist Model, extended to specialists in April 2024
SpecialtiesMulti-specialty: general dentistry plus endodontics, periodontics, orthodontics, and oral surgery under the specialist-ownership model
PMS PlatformNot Mentioned
Regulatory HistoryNo False Claims Act settlement or state Attorney General consumer-protection action found in this research; an ERISA 401(k) forfeiture class action and individual civil suits exist but were not independently verified for subject matter
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • Highest Glassdoor score among the seven general-dentistry organizations in this list (3.7).
  • No FCA or state AG action found, the cleanest regulatory record among the largest organizations here.
  • Not private-equity-owned, which removes one specific pressure (an investor-driven exit timeline) that shapes several peers.

Limits

  • Multi-hub corporate structure (Irvine CA / Henderson NV / Dallas TX) makes "headquarters" a less simple answer than for other organizations here.
  • Without a PE sponsor, the actual long-term liquidity or exit path for an affiliated owner-dentist is less externally documented.
  • Individual federal civil suits exist against the company; their substance was not independently confirmed in this research.

Who it is for. A dentist who specifically wants to avoid private-equity ownership and values a founder-led, equity-based model.

Who should skip it? A dentist who wants a single, simple corporate headquarters and organizational structure to evaluate.

4. MB2 Dental

Equity/partnership (DPO) · Doctor-led partnership model

MB2 Dental brands itself as a Dental Partnership Organization (DPO) rather than a conventional DSO, founded in February 2007 by Dr. Chris Steven Villanueva and headquartered in Carrollton, Texas (Dallas-Fort Worth).

How it operates

MB2 structures affiliation as a partnership in which practice owners retain autonomy and equity, describing itself as "redefining how dentists can thrive... through a true partnership rooted in shared success" rather than an employer-employee relationship.

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• 800 affiliated practices as of September 2025, branded "Nation's Largest Dental Partnership Organization"
• Highest Glassdoor score in this comparison (4.4)
• Multiple institutional investors across three ownership stages since 2007
Ownership/BackingCharlesbank Capital Partners (majority interest, 2021, acquired from Sentinel Capital Partners); Warburg Pincus joined as a new investor in a November 2024 recapitalization alongside Charlesbank; KKR provides a separate $2.3 billion debt facility, not an equity stake
Affiliation ModelEquity/partnership (self-described Dental Partnership Organization)
SpecialtiesMulti-specialty, including orthodontics and oral surgery within its affiliated-practice network
PMS PlatformNot Mentioned
Regulatory HistoryFalse Claims Act and Texas Medicaid Fraud Prevention Act settlement, $8.45 million, January 2017 (MB2 Dental Solutions and 21 affiliated pediatric practices; allegations included claims for services not performed and illegal kickbacks); MB2 currently operates under an active HHS-OIG Corporate Integrity Agreement as a result
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • By a wide margin the highest employee/doctor satisfaction score in this comparison (4.4 vs. a 3.0-3.7 range for peers).
  • Explicit partnership-not-employment positioning, with institutional backing to match (Charlesbank, Warburg Pincus).
  • Fast growth, doubling from 400 to 800 practices between 2022 and 2025.

Limits

  • A significant, specific 2017 False Claims Act settlement involving pediatric dental services and kickback allegations.
  • Currently operating under an active federal Corporate Integrity Agreement, a real ongoing compliance obligation, not just historical record.
  • No PMS platform publicly confirmed.

Who it is for. A dentist who wants explicit partnership framing and is comfortable weighing a 2017 settlement against a since-established compliance program.

Who should skip it? A dentist who wants zero regulatory settlement history to research before affiliating.

5. Smile Brands

Hybrid (employment + optional equity) · Multi-brand, single PMS standard

Smile Brands is a multi-brand DSO founded in 1998, headquartered in Irvine, California, and currently owned by Gryphon Investors, which acquired the company in 2016 (its second time owning a Smile Brands predecessor, having previously owned Bright Now! Dental from 1998 to 2005).

How it operates

Smile Brands provides comprehensive business support to its affiliate dental groups through exclusive long-term agreements, offering an employment-first model with an optional equity path through its own Practice Ownership Program.

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• 10+ consumer brands, including Bright Now!, Castle Dental, Monarch Dental, Midwest Dental, and Merit Dental
• Dentrix Ascend made the exclusive PMS across all locations, October 2022
• 600-700+ offices, the company's own locations page states both figures inconsistently
Ownership/BackingGryphon Investors, since 2016 (not TSG Consumer Partners, a name that surfaces only in connection with an unrelated company, Specialty Dental Brands)
Affiliation ModelHybrid: primarily employment, with an optional equity path via its Practice Ownership Program
SpecialtiesMulti-specialty across its brand portfolio, including orthodontics under several brand names
PMS PlatformDentrix Ascend (Henry Schein One)
Regulatory HistoryNo False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found; a 2021 data breach exposing roughly 1.5 million patients' information led to a class-action settlement expected to exceed $13 million, with no court finding of liability
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • One of the only organizations in this list with a fully confirmed, single, company-wide PMS standard (Dentrix Ascend).
  • Broad multi-brand consumer footprint across many regional markets.
  • No FCA/AG billing-fraud action found in this research.

Limits

  • A large, real 2021 data-breach settlement affecting roughly 1.5 million patients (a cybersecurity matter, not a billing-fraud one, but a real incident nonetheless).
  • The company's own locations page states two different total-office counts (600+ and 700+) without reconciling them.
  • Hybrid affiliation model is less explicitly equity-forward than Aspen Dental, PDS Health, or MB2 Dental.

Who it is for. A dentist joining an established consumer brand who wants a single, already-standardized cloud PMS rather than a data migration project.

Who should skip it? A practice with recent, unresolved concerns about patient-data security history.

6. Sonrava Health (Western Dental & Orthodontics)

Employment · Medicaid- and value-market focus

Sonrava Health is the parent company of Western Dental & Orthodontics (renamed from Western Dental in 2022), headquartered in Orange, California, with a Western Dental brand tracing back over a century of operation.

How it operates

Sonrava operates its affiliated brands on a direct employment model, with associate dentists mentored by a managing doctor at each location, rather than a dentist equity-ownership structure.

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• 5 affiliated brands: Western Dental, Brident Dental & Orthodontics, DentalWorks, Perfect Teeth, Vital Smiles
• 260-580+ locations depending on brand scope measured (Feb 2026)
• Owned by New Mountain Capital since 2012
Ownership/BackingNew Mountain Capital, since November 2012
Affiliation ModelEmployment; no equity-ownership program found on the company's own career materials
SpecialtiesGeneral dentistry and orthodontics (Western Dental & Orthodontics, Brident Dental & Orthodontics)
PMS PlatformNot Mentioned
Regulatory HistoryCalifornia Department of Corporations fine, $1.2 million, 1996 ("consistent disregard for quality of care and patient health"); documented history of 65+ lawsuits per one plaintiffs' attorney quoted in 2010 reporting, including a $120,000 nerve-injury settlement; a $3 million California late-fees class-action settlement; a TCPA unwanted-communications class action
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • Longest continuous operating history of any organization in this list (Western Dental traces to the early 1900s).
  • Value/Medicaid-market focus fills a real access gap other organizations in this list don't prioritize.
  • Multi-state footprint across California, Arizona, Nevada, and Texas through its Brident brand.

Limits

  • Lowest Glassdoor score in this entire comparison (2.3 out of 5, on a small sample of 39 reviews).
  • The most extensive documented regulatory and litigation history in this list, spanning three decades.
  • Straight employment model, no equity-ownership path found, unlike five of the other nine organizations here.

Who it is for. A dentist specifically motivated to serve Medicaid and value-focused patient populations at scale.

Who should skip it? A dentist prioritizing employee satisfaction data or an equity-ownership path.

7. Smile Doctors

Equity/independent-ownership · Largest orthodontics-only DSO (OSO)

Smile Doctors is the largest orthodontics-focused dental support organization (often called an OSO, for orthodontic support organization) in the United States, founded in 2015 and currently headquartered in Dallas, Texas.

How it operates

Smile Doctors affiliates exclusively with orthodontic practices, which remain independently owned and operated by licensed orthodontists, growing primarily through acquiring existing independent ortho practices rather than opening de novo locations.

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• Largest network of Diamond Plus Invisalign providers in the U.S.
• 460+ locations (Feb 2025), 550+ stated on its current site (2026)
• Acquired by Thomas H. Lee Partners in 2021 at roughly a $2.4 billion valuation
Ownership/BackingThomas H. Lee Partners, since 2021
Affiliation ModelEquity/independent-ownership model; practices are owned and operated by licensed orthodontists
SpecialtiesOrthodontics only, no general dentistry
PMS PlatformNot Mentioned
Regulatory HistoryNo False Claims Act settlement, state AG action, or overtreatment class action found in this research; one active FMLA employment dispute (Shannon v. Smile Doctors LLC, filed September 2025) exists but concerns employment leave, not billing or patient care
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • No regulatory or overtreatment action found in this research, one of only two organizations in this list with a clean record on that specific point.
  • Clear, single-specialty focus with a genuine equity-ownership model for affiliating orthodontists.
  • Backed by an experienced healthcare-focused PE firm (Thomas H. Lee Partners).

Limits

  • Two different current location counts (460+ from Feb 2025, 550+ from its own 2026 site) without either being labeled as superseding the other.
  • Single-specialty focus means it has no relevance to a general dentistry practice.
  • Smaller Glassdoor sample size (230 reviews) than most other organizations in this list.

Who it is for. An orthodontist evaluating a specialty-only support organization with an equity path.

Who should skip it? A general dentistry practice; this organization has no general-dentistry offering.

8. Affordable Care

Equity/ownership (100% stated) · Largest denture- and implant-focused DSO

Affordable Care is the parent company of Affordable Dentures & Implants and DDS Dentures + Implant Solutions, founded in 1975 and headquartered in Morrisville, North Carolina, focused specifically on tooth-replacement care.

How it operates

Affordable Care structures affiliation around full practice ownership, stating on its own dentist-recruitment materials that "our dentists have 100% ownership and equity in their practice."

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• 100% stated practice ownership and equity for affiliated dentists
• 380+ practices across 39 states (2026)
• Two brands: Affordable Dentures & Implants and DDS Dentures + Implant Solutions (joined 2019)
Ownership/BackingHarvest Partners acquired the company from Berkshire Partners in 2021 for roughly $2.7 billion; as of April 2026 the company is under active private-credit debt restructuring, with Harvest Partners still the reported equity owner at that point
Affiliation ModelEquity/ownership, stated as 100% on the company's own recruitment page
SpecialtiesDentures and dental implants only, not general restorative dentistry
PMS PlatformNot Mentioned
Regulatory HistoryNo False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found in this research; one civil suit found (Burroughs et al. v. Affordable Care, LLC) concerns a 2022 clinic shooting and premises-liability allegations, not billing or care quality, and was dismissed with leave to amend
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • The clearest, most explicit 100% equity-ownership statement of any organization in this list.
  • No FCA/AG billing-fraud or overtreatment action found in this research.
  • Longest single-brand niche focus (dentures and implants since 1975).

Limits

  • Under active private-credit debt restructuring as of April 2026, worth asking about directly given how recently marked-down debt has been reported.
  • Single-niche focus (dentures and implants) means no relevance to a general restorative practice.
  • Location count varies by source and date (350+ at 2021 deal vs. 380+ stated for 2026) without a single reconciled figure.

Who it is for. A dentures- and implant-focused practice owner who wants the most explicit stated equity terms in this comparison.

Who should skip it? A practice owner wary of affiliating with an organization currently undergoing debt restructuring.

9. Dental Care Alliance

Not clearly disclosed as equity · 150+ brand umbrella

Dental Care Alliance (DCA) was founded in 1991 and is headquartered in Sarasota, Florida, describing itself as supporting over 150 affiliated practice brands, each of which keeps its own local name rather than rebranding.

How it operates

DCA uses "allied practice" and partnership language on its own site, but unlike Aspen Dental, PDS Health, MB2 Dental, Smile Doctors, and Affordable Care, it does not state an explicit dentist equity percentage anywhere in its own materials found during this research.

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• 150+ affiliated brands, practices keep their own name
• 400+ practices across 24 states (April 2026)
• Standardized on Denticon (Planet DDS) as its cloud PMS
Ownership/BackingMubadala Capital took a controlling stake in January 2023 alongside Harvest Partners; a April 2026 debt restructuring reduced debt by more than $1.1 billion and secured $95 million in new capital, but the resulting ownership/cap table was not disclosed in the announcement
Affiliation ModelNot clearly disclosed as an equity model in company materials found; described only in "allied"/partnership language
SpecialtiesMulti-specialty across its 150+ affiliated brands
PMS PlatformDenticon (Planet DDS)
Regulatory HistoryNo False Claims Act settlement or state AG action found; a confirmed data-breach class action settlement of $3 million (approved August 2022) followed a September 2020 breach exposing information for 1,723,375 individuals
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • Lets an affiliated practice keep its own local brand name rather than forcing a rebrand.
  • Confirmed, standardized cloud PMS (Denticon) across the network.
  • No FCA/AG billing-fraud action found in this research.

Limits

  • The only organization among the five with an equity-adjacent pitch in this list that does not state a specific ownership percentage anywhere found.
  • Recent large-scale debt restructuring (April 2026) with an unresolved post-transaction ownership structure.
  • A confirmed data-breach settlement affecting over 1.7 million individuals, one of the largest such incidents in this comparison.

Who it is for. A practice owner who wants to keep an existing local brand name and values a confirmed, standardized PMS.

Who should skip it? A dentist who specifically wants a stated equity percentage in writing before affiliating.

10. North American Dental Group (NADG)

Hybrid (employment + Path to Partnership) · Regional Northeast/Midwest scale

North American Dental Group was founded in 2008 by Ken Cooper and Dr. Andrew Matta and is headquartered in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, operating regionally across the Northeast and Midwest.

How it operates

NADG describes a hybrid model combining standard employment with an optional "Path to Partnership" and joint-venture program, though the current detail of that program could not be independently re-confirmed against a live company page during this research.

AttributeDetail
Highlighting Features• 200+ practices across 11-13 states as of 2019-2020 figures (current count not independently re-confirmed)
• Owned by Jacobs Holding since 2019
• Hybrid employment plus "Path to Partnership" program
Ownership/BackingJacobs Holding AG, acquired 2019 from prior investors Abry Partners and The Riverside Company; co-founders retained significant equity
Affiliation ModelHybrid: standard employment with an optional Path to Partnership/joint-venture track
SpecialtiesGeneral and multi-specialty dental care
PMS PlatformNot Mentioned
Regulatory HistoryA March 2020 joint USA Today/Newsy investigative report, built on over a year of reporting and interviews with dozens of former dentists, employees, and patients, alleged systemic pressure on dentists to overtreat, including specific named patient cases; a related qui tam False Claims Act suit alleging false Ohio Medicaid claims was filed the same month and, per the sources checked, has not been reported as settled or resolved; NADG denied the allegations in the original reporting
ReviewNot Rated

Strengths

  • Established regional presence across the Northeast and Midwest since 2008.
  • Backed by a large, long-term-oriented family holding company (Jacobs Holding) rather than a typical buyout-and-exit PE fund.
  • Offers a stated partnership track alongside standard employment.

Limits

  • The most serious documented allegations in this entire comparison: a detailed 2020 investigative report on overtreatment pressure, with an unresolved related qui tam suit still on file.
  • Current location count could not be independently re-confirmed (the company's own about page was inaccessible during this research).
  • Brand and sub-practice list not independently confirmed.

Who it is for. A dentist in NADG's specific regional footprint who has independently verified the current state of the 2020 allegations to their own satisfaction.

Who should skip it? A dentist who wants to affiliate without first researching an unresolved regulatory allegation.

Other Major DSOs Not in This Top 10

This list stops at ten by design, and a few other large organizations are worth naming for anyone mapping the broader DSO landscape. DECA Dental Group, operating primarily under the Ideal Dental brand, is Dallas-founded (2008) and Blackstone-backed since 2021, with 100+ locations across Texas, Florida, and Washington; it doesn't publicly name a standardized PMS platform. Benevis, formerly Kool Smiles, runs 120+ pediatric- and Medicaid-focused offices across 13 states and Washington, D.C., under New Mountain Capital, the same private equity owner behind Sonrava Health (Western Dental) above, making New Mountain the one sponsor on this list with two separate Medicaid-focused DSO platforms. Great Expressions Dental Centers, Roark Capital Group-owned since 2018, supports 200+ locations and is unusual in that its parent company also owns Curve Dental, one of the PMS platforms several organizations in this guide run on. InterDent, operating under the Gentle Dental brand and backed by H.I.G. Capital, supports 145 offices across eight western states, and is profiled in more detail in our Emerging Dental Service Organizations in Washington guide, where Gentle Dental is the state's largest DSO footprint. None of these four made the Top 10 cut here, but each shows up often enough in other DSO rankings that leaving them unaddressed would be a real gap.

Which Dental Service Organization Fits Your Career Stage or Practice

The right DSO, or whether affiliating makes sense at all, depends far more on the career stage and what you actually want out of the arrangement than on which organization is largest.

Your SituationChooseSkip
Recent graduate wanting mentorship and no practice-management burdenHeartland Dental, Aspen DentalMB2 Dental, PDS Health (both favor established owner-operators over new associates)
Established solo owner considering a full sale for liquiditySmile Brands, Dental Care Alliance, Sonrava HealthSmile Doctors, Affordable Care (both are single-specialty and won't fit a general practice)
Owner who wants to keep real equity and clinical say, not just a payoutPDS Health, MB2 Dental, Aspen DentalSonrava Health (Western Dental) (straight employment model)
Orthodontist evaluating a specialty-only DSO (OSO)Smile DoctorsEvery general-dentistry organization in this list
Denture and implant practice ownerAffordable CareOrganizations without a dedicated prosthodontic/implant focus
Practice owner who wants heavy diligence on regulatory history firstPDS Health, Smile Doctors (no FCA/AG action found in this research)NADG, MB2 Dental, Sonrava Health, Aspen Dental (all carry dated regulatory history worth asking about directly)

How Big Is the DSO Segment, and How Fast Is It Growing?

DSO affiliation among U.S. dentists more than doubled in under a decade: from 7.2% in 2015 to 16.1% in 2024, per the ADA Health Policy Institute's most recent workforce survey (August 2025). The growth is heavily concentrated among new graduates: 26.5% of dentists within 10 years of graduation were DSO-affiliated in 2024, against just 9.1% of dentists with 25 or more years of experience.

YearShare of U.S. Dentists DSO-Affiliated
20157.2%
20178.5%
201910.0%
202111.1%
202313.8%
202416.1%

Source: American Dental Association Health Policy Institute, "The U.S. Dentist Workforce," August 2025.

For the dollar size of the U.S. DSO market itself, Grand View Research puts it at $26.9 billion in 2023, projected to reach $76.2 billion by 2030 at a 16.4% compound annual growth rate. That figure comes from a market-research publisher whose report page is a living document that gets overwritten as forecasts roll forward, unlike the ADA's dated PDF survey, so it is presented here with that caveat rather than as a fixed number.

Not All DSOs Are the Same Kind of Organization

The 10 organizations in this comparison fall into genuinely different structural types, and the type matters more than the size when a dentist is deciding whether to affiliate.

TypeWhat It IsWhich of the 10What To Ask
General multi-brand roll-upAcquires and operates many general-dentistry practices, often under several consumer brand namesHeartland Dental, Aspen Dental, Smile Brands, Sonrava Health, Dental Care Alliance, NADGWhich brand will my practice operate under, and does that change?
Partnership/DPO modelStructures affiliation as a doctor-led partnership rather than a conventional employer-employee DSO relationshipMB2 DentalWhat percentage of the practice do I actually own after affiliating, in writing?
Founder-owned, integrated modelPrivately held by its founder rather than a private equity firm, expanding into adjacent care modelsPDS HealthSince there is no PE sponsor, what is the actual exit or liquidity path for an affiliated owner-dentist?
Single-specialty organization (OSO)Focuses exclusively on one specialty rather than general dentistrySmile Doctors (orthodontics)Does the organization have any general-dentistry infrastructure my patients would need?
Niche-focus organizationBuilt around one specific service category rather than general practiceAffordable Care (dentures and implants)What happens to patients who need services outside that specific niche?

Top 10 Dental Service Organizations Affiliation Terms in Detail

DSOs do not publish a retail "price." What they publish, unevenly, is how affiliation actually works: equity or employment, and what the organization itself says about it.

OrganizationStated Affiliation ModelWhat the Organization States, as PublishedEquity Percentage Disclosed?
Heartland DentalEmployment-oriented"Many of the benefits of ownership with less risk"No
Aspen Dental (TAG)Equity/ownershipPractice Ownership Program, running since 2004Not as a percentage; described as full practice ownership
PDS HealthEquity/ownership"Owner Dentist Model," 800+ Owner Dentists, extended to specialists in 2024Not as a percentage; described as ownership
MB2 DentalEquity/partnershipSelf-described "Dental Partnership Organization," not a DSONot disclosed as a percentage
Smile BrandsHybridEmployment-first, with an optional equity path via its own Practice Ownership ProgramNot disclosed as a percentage
Sonrava Health (Western Dental)EmploymentAssociate dentists mentored by a Managing Doctor; standard employee benefitsNo, not an equity model
Smile DoctorsEquity/ownership"Practices are owned and operated by licensed orthodontists"Not disclosed as a percentage
Affordable CareEquity/ownership"Our dentists have 100% ownership and equity in their practice"Yes, 100% stated directly
Dental Care AllianceNot clearly disclosed as equity"Allied practices," partnership language, no ownership percentage foundNo
North American Dental Group (NADG)HybridStandard employment plus an optional "Path to Partnership" and joint-venture programNot disclosed as a percentage

"As published" means the organization's own site or recruitment materials, not a third-party estimate. Where no percentage is stated, that absence is itself the finding, not an inference about what the real number might be.

Equity and Partnership Claims: What Is Actually Documented

"Equity" and "partnership" are the two words every organization in this list not built on straight employment reaches for. How well each claim is actually corroborated varies sharply.

  • Affordable Care is the single most specific claim in this comparison: "100% ownership and equity in their practice," stated in its own recruitment materials, with no hedge or percentage range.
  • Aspen Dental's Practice Ownership Program has the longest documented track record (running since 2004, marked its 20th anniversary in a dated November 2024 press release), though it does not state a specific equity percentage.
  • PDS Health's Owner Dentist Model names a concrete headcount, 800+ Owner Dentists, and extended the same structure to specialists in a dated April 2024 announcement, which is more specific than most peers, though again without a stated percentage.
  • MB2 Dental and Smile Doctors both describe practices as owned by the affiliated doctor, but neither publishes a specific equity percentage or a sample agreement.
  • Dental Care Alliance is the clearest gap: its own site describes "allied practices" and partnership language, but no equity claim, percentage, or ownership structure was found anywhere in company materials checked for this guide.

The practical takeaway for a dentist evaluating any of these: a stated headcount or program name (PDS Health, Aspen Dental) is more verifiable than a general word like "partnership" with nothing behind it (Dental Care Alliance, NADG), and neither is a substitute for reading the actual affiliation agreement.

8 Things Worth Checking Before You Affiliate With Any DSO

Each of these traces to something specific found during research for this guide, not a generic warning.

Red FlagAsk ThisAnswer That Should Give You Pause
A dated False Claims Act settlement on the organization's recordCan you walk me through what changed in your billing compliance program since that settlement?They are not aware of, or will not discuss, a settlement that is a matter of public record
An active Corporate Integrity AgreementAre you currently operating under any federal compliance monitoring agreement?They answer no when a public HHS-OIG listing says otherwise
A name that overlaps with a different, similarly named parent companyCan you confirm your exact legal entity name and current parent company?They cannot clearly state their own current corporate name or ownership
"Partnership" language with no stated equity percentage anywhereWhat percentage of the practice will I actually own, in writing, after affiliating?They cannot or will not give a specific number before you sign
A location count that has not been updated on the organization's own site in over a yearCan I see your current, dated practice count and where you found it?The number they give doesn't match what's on their own current site
Recent debt restructuring or a lender-driven ownership changeHas your ownership or capital structure changed in the last 12 months?They describe the organization as stable when a recent restructuring is a matter of public record
Investigative reporting alleging overtreatment pressure at the organizationHow do you measure and reward dentist performance internally, and is revenue part of that?Revenue-per-visit or similar production metrics are explicitly part of dentist compensation or review
A Glassdoor rating far below the rest of the categoryCan you connect me with a current or recently departed dentist at one of your locations?They cannot or will not provide a reference beyond their own recruiting materials

A 12-Question Checklist Before You Sign With Any Dental Service Organization

Bring this to the final evaluation call. Whether the organization can answer all twelve on the call, not in a follow-up email, is the best signal you can gather.

Ownership, compliance, and compensation

  1. What percentage of my practice will I actually own after affiliating, in writing, not just in marketing language?
  2. Is there a private equity sponsor, and if so, what is that firm's typical holding period and exit strategy?
  3. Are you currently operating under any federal Corporate Integrity Agreement or similar compliance monitoring?
  4. Has your organization settled any False Claims Act allegations, and if so, what changed afterward?
  5. What practice management system will my office run on, and who pays for the transition?
  6. How is dentist compensation or performance measured, and is production or revenue part of that measurement?
  7. What happens to my existing staff and their employment terms after affiliation?
  8. Does the organization have any current, unresolved investigative reporting or litigation I should read before signing?

Commercial and diligence

  1. What is the current, dated location count, and where can I independently verify it?
  2. Can I speak directly with a current or recently departed affiliated dentist as a reference?
  3. What is the actual process and timeline if I want to exit the affiliation later?
  4. Has your ownership or capital structure changed in the last 12 months?

Whichever structure you choose, insurance-eligibility verification is one operational piece every organization on this list still leaves to the affiliating practice or, in a few cases, standardizes only after the fact. Book a demo to see how Needletail keeps eligibility verification consistent no matter which DSO you affiliate with.

About the Author

Georgey Jacob

Georgey Jacob

Head of Growth, Needletail AI

Georgey Jacob is the Head of Growth at Needletail AI, leading go-to-market strategy for the company's dental DSO and group practice segment. He previously served as Head of Growth at MoveInSync, where he led international GTM strategies across paid media, SEO, and account-based marketing. He brings over 8 years of experience in data-driven B2B growth.

Frequently Asked Questions

A DSO is a corporate business entity that contracts with dental practices to manage non-clinical operations: billing, insurance coding, payroll, compliance, HR, recruitment, employee benefits, marketing, and IT and practice-management technology. Licensed dentists retain all actual patient-care and clinical decisions, which a DSO is legally barred from directing.

Administrative support (billing, insurance coding, payroll, compliance), human resources (recruitment, onboarding, employee benefits), and marketing and IT (digital campaigns, practice management technology integration). Clinical decisions stay with the licensed dentist at every practice.

It depends on the organization, and this is one of the biggest practical differences between the 10 organizations in this guide. Some structure affiliation as dentist equity ownership (Aspen Dental's Practice Ownership Program, PDS Health's Owner Dentist Model, Affordable Care's stated 100% ownership, Smile Doctors, MB2 Dental's partnership model). Others use a straight employment relationship (Sonrava Health/Western Dental, Heartland Dental).

A DPO, or Dental Partnership Organization, is a term MB2 Dental uses specifically to describe its own model, distinguishing it from a conventional DSO's employer-employee structure by emphasizing doctor-led partnership and retained autonomy. It is not an industry-standard regulatory category, just a positioning term one organization in this list uses for itself.

That depends entirely on what a dentist is optimizing for: administrative relief and negotiating leverage on one side, versus full independent control and no affiliation obligations on the other. The ADA Health Policy Institute's data shows DSO affiliation is far more common among dentists within 10 years of graduation (26.5% in 2024) than among dentists with 25 or more years of experience (9.1%), suggesting the trade-off is weighed differently at different career stages.

16.1% of U.S. dentists were DSO-affiliated in 2024, up from 7.2% in 2015, per the ADA Health Policy Institute's August 2025 workforce survey. The U.S. DSO market itself was estimated at $26.9 billion in 2023 by Grand View Research, projected to reach $76.2 billion by 2030.

No. A DSO is legally restricted to non-clinical operations under state corporate-practice-of-dentistry laws in most states; clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions remain with the licensed dentist. When an organization is alleged to have pressured dentists toward unnecessary treatment, as North American Dental Group was in 2020 investigative reporting, that allegation is specifically about pressure through business metrics, not a DSO directly issuing clinical orders, which would be unlawful.

Beyond location count and brand recognition: check the specific affiliation model and whether an equity percentage is stated in writing, check for any dated False Claims Act settlement or state Attorney General action, check whether the organization has changed ownership or undergone debt restructuring recently, and ask for a reference from a current or recently departed affiliated dentist rather than relying only on recruiting materials.
Get Started Today

Still fighting eligibility fires?
Ready to stop?

See how Needletail verifies tomorrow's patients before your team clocks in

Dental office professional with AI-powered smart glasses